Rainy day thoughts


I should start with Thanksgiving dinner.  Let me remind you that I had been sick for 4 days (now Al has it), our oven does not have degrees, and we were expecting about 15 people.  Well, after a few bumps in the road, we got the 10 lb turkey into the oven close to 6:30 with guests arriving at 8:00.  Or so we thought.  But remember we are in Spain.  It was the Americans plus 1 until 9:30.  It worked out perfectly 🙂  The turkey was cooked just about right.  It wasn’t the best turkey ever (but what can be compared to my Grandma Lu’s?), but it was good.  I also made mashed potatoes and asparagus.  Other people brought pecan pie, sweet potatoes, a Spanish omelet, a sponge cake, an egg/meat dish, other deserts, and wine.  Judging by how late people stayed and how little food was left, I’d say it was a success. I think there were 17 people here in all!   I only wish I had been able to eat more than a few bites of everything (and I even paid for that).  I did hide some mashed potatoes for myself in homage to last Thanksgiving 🙂

So it has been rainy.  And *cold.  Our apartment only has a little space heater, so we’ve been layering clothes and I’ve been sporting my winter hat.  Tonight I ran to the grocery store and decided not to show the world my hat hair.  As soon as I turned toward the sea, there were 2 palm trees mocking me.  Not that I’m alone.  I’ve seen down winter coats and other excessive winter gear.  I just hope I’m not losing my tough Minnesota skin.

We watched a football game at a cafe last night–Barcelona versus Madrid (a huge rivalry).  It seems the people’s loyalty is split down the middle.  The first place we went was completely reserved, and we barely squeezed into the second place.  I must say I was a little disappointed.  The place was packed, but you could hear a pin drop (and not from suspense).  It was no drunken debauchery like a bar during a Vikings-Packers game.  Walking home from the game, you would have thought it was the championship game.  People were honking their horns and hanging out of cars, yelling at people on the street.   I think I need to experience a live game…

This upcoming weekend we have a 5-day weekend for Dia de la Constitucion and Immaculada Concepcion.  We are going to Sevilla 🙂  Not exactly sure what we’re going to do, but it will be an adventure.

When I sat down to write this, I thought I had more to say.  I guess not!  Well, until next time…

*Cold = under 60 degrees (but not much)

This entry was posted in Living Abroad. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rainy day thoughts

  1. mommy says:

    We missed you on Thanksgiving! My turkey was great and we’re still enjoying turkey soup. I hope Sevilla is fabulous–it was on my list, but I missed it. Great photos!

Leave a Reply

