Silent night


“I’ve got a great ambition to die of exhaustion rather than boredom” ~Thomas Carlyle (Thanks, Renee!)

Lately I feel useless.  Bored.  Blah.  I can’t stand not having my own classroom, not really teaching.  And I have too much free time.  I don’t know what to do with myself.  I’m not motivated to read.  I should work on my writing.  I should work on my Spanish.  But I’m not.  (Not really).  I don’t know what my deal is.  It’s almost 11 on Saturday night and I chose to stay home.   This would not be abnormal back home.  In recent years I spend more and more time at home (especially Friday nights).  But here I feel guilty not going out.  Here it comes: I’M OLD.  I don’t like to/can’t party like I used to.  Nobody who is younger than me (including all of my friends here) understands that.  One day…one day, mis amigitos.

Here are some highlights from our trip to Sevilla:

Moroccan restaurant: Chicken and lamb skewers, cous cous, a tasty Syrah (grown in Africa by French wine makers), and the best hummus I’ve ever had served with warm pita bread.

Great nightlife: The historic part of the city was lined with cafes and pubs, many of which served beer other than Spanish!  I even found Strongbow!!!

Tourist attractions: The castle and cathedral were both well worth the money.  They pale in comparison to a lot of what I saw in Paris, but then what doesn’t?  😉

The Spanish architecture was fantastic…more of what I expected “Spain” to look like.

It rained every day we were there, but that didn’t damped our spirits.  We simply canopied ourselves with our paraguas and went on our merry way.  One the upside, I was really happy with how some of the photos turned out and we didn’t have to deal with quite as many tourists!

Well, 4 whole days there and ya esta.

We leave soon for our European adventure and are looking for ideas/input on things to do.  Here’s our itinerary:

December 23-26 Paris (I’ve been, but Al has not.  Catacombes, Notre Dame, Versaille…)

December 26-28 Luxembourg

December 28-31 Belgium (drink good beer 😉

December 31-January 2 Amsterdam  (Anne Frank House, WWII museum, Van Gogh museum, Rembrandt house)

January 2-5 Prague (more drinking)

January 5-7 Budapest (Arabic baths)

January 7-10 Madrid

Any input is much appreciated!

Hasta luego!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Silent night

  1. nessa says:

    when you’re in madrid, find milos. i’m sure he’ll have some good times to recommend. 🙂

  2. mommy says:

    Madrid–el Parque Retiro,El Prado, downtown! Belguim–la gran plaz 9sp?) in Brussels, Brugge.

Leave a Reply

