I should have been a singer…


I’ve decided that learning a new language is like singing along with your favorite song in the car…

The parts you don’t know you mutter, stumble over, or supplement your own lyrics (I inherited the potty-humor facet of this talent from my mother).

You temporarily get silenced when someone calls your bluff. (Trivia! Name these tunes…1) The ants are my friends, they’re blowin’ in the wind. The ants are a-blowin’ in the wind. 2) Hold me close – I’m tryin’ to dance here. 3) You make the rice, I’ll make the gravy.)

You own the refrain and belt it out with rockstar-esque confidence. Unfortunately, the build up to these moments causes trigger-happiness and you might jump in too early, then abashedly withdraw to closed-mouthed humming.

Sometimes people cover their ears and rudely supplicate, “Are you trying to…harmonize?”

Then there are some parts where the instruments are slabbed together (or are orchestrated, depending) and it’s all too much for you decipher. All you can do is nod your head to the beat.

We’re going to Granada for the weekend. Hopefully I’ll return with something better than this bungling attempt at humor 🙂

Answers to quiz: 1) Bob Dylan, Blowin In The Wind 2) Elton John, Tiny Dancer 3) Billy Joel, You May Be Right

This entry was posted in Living Abroad. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I should have been a singer…

  1. mommy says:

    Can you name these tunes?:

    I’m your fetus, I’m your fire, Georgia fire.

    Blinded by the light. Wrapped up like a douche you know you roll it in the night.

    As far as you singing, um, just don’t!

Leave a Reply

