Here comes RAIN: A Tribute to the Beatles


Normally I don’t think of tribute bands as worthy of much more than a casual night at a local pub.    Don’t get me wrong, I love the Beatles and most things Broadway, but I had never heard of this show.  So when I sat down in the front row of the Orpheum’s pit, I wasn’t expecting much.

Ladies and gentlemen, thank you for attending this evening’s performance.  There is no smoking in the theater………………………………………………………………of any kind 😉

Complete with decade-relevant commercials, news clips, and other musicians, the transitions between sets kept the energy surging.  Everything from their hair (moptops and not) to their instruments to their movements reeked of the Beatles.  (Not that they didn’t stop to pay respects to the band–all while keeping their British accents.)   They had everyone up out of their seats doing The Twist, belting Na Na Nas during Hey Jude, and silenced during A Day in the Life.   They even included Lenon’s Give Peace a Chance (during which all I could think about was John and Oko in their hotel room bed).

I was not ready for the performance to end.  When they exited stage right, my applause and plea for one more song were as true and strong as any outstanding concert I’ve been to.  Their set list was perfect minus When I’m 64 and the fact that there were SO many more tracks I was still longed for (particularly Don’t Let Me Down, Dig A Pony, and While My Guitar Gently Weeps).

As we were walking our, I asked Al what he thought.  “5 out of 4 stars.”  I concurr.   Definitely #amustsee!

After the show, we went to Masa on Nicollet Mall for dinner.  The food was delicious and (get this!) they have Sunday date night for two where you get a bottle of wine plus a 3-course meal all for $50 per couple (plus Minneapolis’ 10.775% restaurant tax #areyoukiddingme).  Their owner, D’Amico, is running the same special.

Like Phantom and Chicago, RAIN is a show I’ll definitely be a repeat attendee for!

This entry was posted in Food, Music, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Here comes RAIN: A Tribute to the Beatles

  1. mommy says:

    I wish I had gone–next time for sure!

Leave a Reply

